The Sacraments and Prayer


The Sacraments are special moments of God’s grace in our lives. There are seven sacraments – three sacraments of Christian initiation, two sacraments of healing and two sacraments at the service of communion.

The Sacraments of Christian Initiation are the foundation of Christian life:

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • The Eucharist

Sacraments of Healing:

  • Reconciliation
  • Anointing of the sick

Sacraments at the Service of Communion:

  • Holy Orders
  • Marriage

If you wish to learn more about the Sacraments you may contact your local parish.

Flames of Faith is a resource from Archdiocese of Brisbane. Sr Kari Hatherell osa explains the Sacraments.  

Bishop Robert Barron, auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles has developed several youtube videos.

What is prayer?

Prayer is an invitation to communicate with God.

Depending on the school, your child may start each day or lesson with a prayer. In Catholic schools, prayers typically begin with making the sign of the cross and the words, “In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit.”

Click here for a video from the Bishop Barron on prayer